Happy Valentine’s Day! <3

I hope you’re having a wonderful Valentine’s Day! 🙂 I celebrated with a gorgeous bunch of roses, some chocolate-covered strawberries, and a fabulous s’more-flavored Adore bar. Sounds like a pretty good day to me!

Besides those treats, the food side of Valentine’s Day hasn’t been too interesting. And the exercise part is still up in the air…it’s 8 p.m. and I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to the gym. Might be a yoga night for me in my room!

But yesterday’s workout was good enough for two days, anyway. Week two of Team in Training went wonderfully. I was a little worried about running in mid-30 degree weather, but with my little beanie and gloves I was fine. I ran four miles, which is the longest I have run since my (injury-provoking?) 12-miler at the very end of December. (See this post for all the injury details.) Those four miles felt awesome. I kept just under a 10-minute-mile pace, which is perfect for me. Plus, zero ankle pain—hallelujah—and very little knee pain. I could feel my knee stiffening on the drive home, but I iced it twice throughout the day and had no pain at all after that, which is even an improvement after last week. Can’t wait for my follow-up doctor’s appointment on Friday!

So once again, happy Valentine’s Day or Singles’ Awareness Day or whichever version of the holiday you choose to celebrate. 🙂 I got flowers and cards from my family and plenty of chocolate strawberries and hugs from my friends. Also, I went with two of my best girlfriends to see Valentine’s Day on Friday night, which I highly recommend. Such a cute movie! A lot like Love Actually, but even happier and sweeter.

I won’t lie, I love Valentine’s Day because it’s all about love, in all shapes and forms. Romantic love, family love, friendly love, pet love, all of it. Another kind of love we shouldn’t forget is self love. Love is about appreciating people and accepting them for what’s good and bad. Nobody’s perfect, and for some reason we are far more likely to accept this fact about others than we are about ourselves. It constantly amazes me how we are so hard on ourselves and say things in our head that we would never say to someone else that we love. So love yourself! It’s pretty hard for you to love someone else or for him/her to love you if you don’t. It’s not an easy thing to do, but it’s certainly worth the effort. Appreciate your quirks, celebrate your strengths, and accept your weaknesses. They are all what makes you you.

So use Valentine’s Day as a celebration of love, as an excuse to eat chocolate, and as a push to go for what you want—romantically or otherwise. 😉 Go give someone a hug tonight or go post an Operation Beautiful note and give yourself some love. ❤

Leave a Reply

