12-Miler #3

Half marathon #3 means 12-miler #3! :) The San Diego Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon is in 18 days, which means my 12-miler (the longest of my training) took place last Friday. I am running this race with Team in Training again, and our big official event for this 12-miler (or the 21-miler for the marathoners) was on Saturday. Since I am a mentor for TNT, I was out there supporting instead of running, and I did my run on my own the day before.

Truthfully, I was really worried about this run because I had a solid two weeks of unspectacular runs. And not just unspectacular, but bordering on bad. I have no idea what it was, but it was the biggest running rut that I’ve had so far. :-/ I had to do run-walk intervals for the second half of an 8-miler, and the next week I could only finish half of my scheduled 8 miles! Of course I am still thrilled that I can run that, but it’s not good news five days before I’m supposed to run 12!

However, I was pretty darn determined that I was going to finish my 12. In the couple days leading up to the run, I focused super-hard on my water, my food, my rest, and my positive thinking. All of which I think contributed to my awesome 12-miler! Granted, I didn’t run it as fast as I would have liked. But my time was better than my previous two 12-milers, and considering the variables (it was so hot) I am thrilled. San Diego, here I come!

Besides running, I’ve been keeping up with the weight lifting as always. My current favorite workout is this one from Women’s Health. (Especially those Spider-Man pushups. ;)) I pick that magazine up on a whim every once and a while—I have subscriptions to Shape and Self—and I really like it! They have great workouts.

Of course, I’ve also been doing a lot of eating. It’s been so exciting to have a kitchen to cook in again, and I’m eating it up (pun completely intended). Plus, I have no idea what my options will be in Australia so I’m taking advantage of all that I can! Get ready for a whole lot of random eats…

018 - Copy (9)

This is one of my very favorite recipes; I had it for lunch a few days ago. It’s even on my recipe page! For two servings, I mixed a can of wild salmon (skinless/boneless, I buy it at Costco) with a few tablespoons of Greek yogurt, chopped apple, chopped carrot, dried cranberries, salt, and paprika. Yum. :) It’s really delicious on toast, but I ate it this time with Kashi crackers.

013 - Copy (12)

I’ve also been really obsessed with green monsters. I’ve always liked them, but all of a sudden I’m usually drinking one a day. I just love them, and I’m digging the simplicity right now.

029 - Copy (2)

I make them right now with one banana, one cup of milk, and a few handfuls of spinach. That’s it! (Every once in a while a frozen strawberry or two.) And I promise you can’t taste the green. ;)

002 - Copy (33)

Ooh, this was a good lunch, too! It doesn’t look too appetizing (my fault…I grilled the wrap too long and it ripped) but it was tasty. I stuffed a wrap with spinach, hummus, and chopped carrot before grilling it for a few minutes longer than I should have. I love pretty much anything that’s warm and has hummus in it.

016 - Copy (15)

Oh my goodness, then there was this breakfast. Disclaimer: it may have tasted extra delicious to me because I had just finished a hot run. But I bet it tastes amazing no matter the circumstances. I really, really love these waffles. I don’t buy them that often because they’re expensive and I have no qualms about eating them every day. This is the brand (I get the HempPlus ones) and they’re just awesome. But the really amazing part of this breakfast was the “sauce” I made.

020 - Copy (8)

In a small bowl I mashed together half a banana, a tablespoon of almond butter, a tablespoon or two of milk, and a couple drops of maple syrup. Then I microwaved it for about 20-30 seconds and stirred until it came together to the consistency you see above. It was SO. GOOD. I want to make it all the time and smother everything with it. I am not ashamed at all to tell you that I licked the little bowl.

023 - Copy (6)

And I used the other half of the banana to make a green smoothie—told ya I was obsessed. Plus half a cup of milk and some spinach.

008 - Copy (27)

And last (I promise) was this dinner. First a confession: I had never made tofu before! But I followed this recipe/guide, and it turned out great! Next time I’ll definitely marinate the tofu or make a sauce because it tasted pretty plain, but I like the taste of plain tofu. (For lunch the next day, I mixed the leftover tofu with hummus and made another grilled wrap. Yummy.) Rounding out this dinner was roasted broccoli and zucchini with some sweet potato chips. Love me some sweet potatoes.

And that’s it for tonight! See you tomorrow for some more eats…and maybe some more of that banana-almond butter sauce. ;)

5 responses to this post.

  1. never apologize for posting too much food! i am officially addicted to your blog. it’s so informative and inspiring! i found it the other day while searching for spinach smoothie ideas on google.

    i was wondering… do you ever worry about eating too much spinach? i really pack my smoothies full of spinach… i eat them everyday… and i’ve heard that you can get kidney stones or get too much (iron?) from over consumption. i was curious what your thoughts might be on the subject.

    can’t wait to see more food tomorrow!

    -robin :o)

    Reply

    • Hey Robin! I’m glad you like the blog. :) As for the spinach, I personally don’t worry about it. I don’t put too much spinach in my smoothies (at max 2 loosely packed cups). As I understand it, spinach is high in non-heme iron (the plant form of iron), which isn’t as easily used by our body as heme iron (the animal form). Also, it isn’t as easily absorbed in raw spinach as it would be if the spinach were cooked. Plus, spinach has oxalic acid, which inhibits iron absorption. So as long as it’s raw, I think you’ll be okay. But you can always cut back if you’d like. ;) Or try kale!

      Reply

  2. hi meghan! thank you for the info! that’s what i wanted to hear…. that it’s good to keep eating it! but switching it up with kale is a great idea, too. thank you!

    Reply

  3. Yay for becoming a new tofu fan!

    Reply

  4. That is the marathon I was training to run last year. I’m so glad they now have a half to run since it looks like that’s the only thing I may be able to run in the future! Excited to hear how it is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

