I’m Baaaaack!

Why hello there! :) Long time no see (type?!).

“School’s out for summer…”

Now that school’s done for the time being, I’m excited to get back in the blogging swing of things. And hopefully I’ll have some exciting things to talk about since I’m running the San Diego Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon in less than a month and then in July…

(drumroll)

…I’m leaving to go to Sydney for a semester abroad! :) Yup, I’m headed to the University of Sydney in Australia for the fall semester, and my goal is to blog my way through it.

But I’ve got many things to keep me busy until then, including a lot of cooking and eating yummy food.

002 - Copy (31)

Yes, it’s green, but it’s yummy, I promise. Perfect Saturday morning breakfast if you ask me.

003 - Copy (30)

To make this tasty concoction, I threw the following into a blender:

  • one frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • a few handfuls of spinach
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • chia seeds
  • ground flaxseeds

007 - Copy (29)

And of course I topped it with some Kashi Heart to Heart and tossed it in a bowl for some “smoothie in a bowl” action.

009 - Copy (27)

Warms my heart to get some greens in me in the morning. Plus, let’s be serious, anything that’s a fun color is fun to eat. 

I wish I had some pictures from my food yesterday, but rest assured that I appropriately pampered my mother and made her banana pancakes for brunch and almond-crusted salmon (which was amazing; I’ll be making it again soon) for dinner.

Now onto this morning’s breakfast. I went for a run this morning (got to break in some new sneaks) and since it’s May in Texas, it’s super hot and I was in the mood for something cold. I saw this fabulous idea and knew I needed to try it ASAP. Last night, I mixed 1/3 cup rolled oats with 3/4 cup almond milk, 1 tbsp. chia seeds, vanilla, and cinnamon.

012 - Copy (15)

This morning, I pulled a banana from the freezer and threw it in the food processor until it resembled a soft-serve consistency. Then I layered it all up and added a blob of almond butter on top. (And margarita glasses just make Monday mornings more fun.)

014 - Copy (15)

This was really delicious! Next time I think I’ll try it with my traditional overnight oats recipe (equal parts oats, milk, and yogurt) but I actually really liked the texture of this. Having the banana separate instead of mixed in was really good.

016 - Copy (14)

I’m off, but lunch is already in the oven and it smells awesome. I’m trying a new recipe, so stay tuned.

Quote of the day: Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success. If you love what you are doing, you will be successful.

My favorite quote of all time. And that means a lot considering I’m a quote fiend.

One response to this post.

  1. I love that quote!!! and isn’t chia seed pudding the best? cute blog

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

