It Ain’t Easy Being Green

001 - Copy (30)

Kermit the Frog would be proud of me: my breakfast this morning was gloriously green! I had an early doctor’s appointment this morning so I went for a quick breakfast.

004 - Copy (33)

The smoothie mix:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 tbsp. almond butter
  • 1/3 cup oatmeal (just raw oats)
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • ~1/2 cup almond milk (the end of a container)
  • 1/2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • plus…a few handfuls of spinach!

010 - Copy (18)

This smoothie was awesome. It had enough heft from the oats and the almond butter to hold me through the morning. And I promise that you cannot taste the spinach at all. Try it! I mean, how fun is it to have a green drink for breakfast?

009 - Copy (26)

The appointment with my running doctor went really well, too! He was very impressed with the strength gains that I’ve made in the last few weeks, and I’m sure that’s why my running has been feeling so much stronger lately. He gave me a couple more exercises to do, and I’ve got yet another follow-up appointment in about six weeks. I’ll be deep into Team in Training training by then, so it’ll be a good time for a check-up.

I headed to the gym for my workout a little later in the day, before a late lunch. Today was all about the legs.

I did all of these exercises on the Bosu with a 20-lb body bar.

And then it was time for rehab exercises:

Plus I did 15 easy minutes on the elliptical and ran two 9:20 miles. Whew! My legs were quite shaky after the workout, and I quite literally ran home and toward the fridge. I heated up some of my leftover bulgur-veggie mixture from last night and added some black beans and hummus. Even more delicious, if that’s possible.

Aaand there’s no picture. It wasn’t pretty, you saw it yesterday already, and I really, really wanted to get it in my tummy. :)

But there’s a picture of dinner! And man was it good. I followed this recipe almost exactly. (My changes in bold.)

014 - Copy (14)

Spicy African Peanut Stew

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 sweet potato, cubed (about 1 c. total)
  • 1 1/2 t. curry powder omitted
  • 1/2-3/4 t. garam masala (depending on how spicy you like it) omitted
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1 T. minced ginger used a tsp. of ground ginger
  • 2 t. minced garlic
  • stevia to taste (I used almost 2 packets of NuNaturals) omitted
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 can fire roasted tomatoes, in juice used regular diced tomatoes
  • 1 can light coconut milk omitted
  • 2 c. vegetable stock
  • 2 T. natural peanut butter used almond butter
  • 1/2 c. red lentils, drained and rinsed (can substitute quinoa, if desired) used green lentils

021 - Copy (4)

This recipe was meant for the slow cooker, but I just cooked it all in a Dutch oven. I brought the mixture to a boil and then covered it and let it simmer and thicken for quite a while. I was afraid it wouldn’t thicken (I like thick soups!) but it did, in a delicious fashion. It was so good! I’m very happy that I have leftovers. :)

022 - Copy (5)

And here’s dessert, too! When I was poking around in the freezer earlier, I saw a couple of frozen bananas. To me, that means…banana soft serve!

030 - Copy

This is the easiest recipe in the world. I threw two frozen bananas in the food processor and let ‘er rip. After about five minutes, I had glorious soft and fluffy banana soft serve. I split it into two servings and drizzled with my own chocolate sauce. (Just two squares of dark chocolate melted in the microwave.)

031 - Copy (4)

And then what to do with the little bit of leftover chocolate?

035

What an awesome, healthy dessert! Enjoy your evenings. :)

One response to this post.

  1. I’m so trying the banana soft serve! I typically keep 2-3 bananas frozen (once they go bad). Green Monster’s are great, aren’t they? I love how I’m full for hours, but not overly stuffed or bloated from them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

