One-Bowl Meals

Gah, I had my post all written and Windows Live Writer ate it. :( Let’s try this again.

The other day I got this cute little sample box from Kashi…

001 - Copy (29)

…that I was really excited to try this morning! Kashi Heart to Heart is my cereal of choice, but my grocery store only sells the regular flavor (not warm cinnamon). I’ve tried this flavor once before, though, and loved it. Today was no different!

004 - Copy (32)

I put about half a cup of Greek yogurt on the bottom of my bowl along with the sample box of Heart to Heart (which was a little more than a serving), a sliced banana, two HUGE chopped strawberries, and a small spoonful of almond butter tucked in there.

008 - Copy (25)

And I’m super excited that berry season is not too far off. These were organic strawberries from California…which is better than from Chile!

009 - Copy (25)

Here’s proof that yogurt was indeed underneath there. Sure, it’s not as photogenic, but I can promise you that it was delicious. :)

011 - Copy (19)

My lovely—and somewhat lazy—Sunday was full of errands, brunch out, and time on the couch watching the Canada-U.S. hockey game. How exciting! And if the U.S. was to lose, as least we lost to Canada.

Before too long, it was time for dinner, another meal in a white bowl. I was thrilled to be back cooking again. I just love putzing around the kitchen, creating a healthy meal while listening to some music. Life just doesn’t get much better. :)

014 - Copy (13)

I started off by cooking bulgur on the stovetop. Bulgur is one of my favorite grains: it’s hearty, chewy, tastes awesome, and doesn’t take very long to cook. I cooked it in chicken stock (1:1.5 ratio) and added various veggies: sliced mushrooms, zucchini, summer squash, carrots, and edamame. I brought the mixture to a boil and then covered it and let it simmer for about 10-15 minutes. (Be sure to check on the liquid level often! I needed to add more a few times.) Meanwhile, I boiled some shrimp, which I chopped and added to the bulgur when it was done. I plated (bowled?) the mixture on top of a bed of steamed broccoli (takes 2.5 minutes in the microwave!) and finished it off with a sprinkle of sliced almonds.

017 - Copy (7)

This was so delicious! As in, it’s going on the recipe page right now. I’ve got some of the bulgur-veggie mixture left over, and I cannot wait to have it for lunch tomorrow.

022 - Copy (4)

So what about a workout for today? I didn’t run since I did that yesterday, and I didn’t go to the gym. I left my kettlebell and my resistance bands in my dorm room, so what’s a girl to do?

Body weight exercises!

Whew! I also threw in a few yoga moves and some stretches.

Anyone else watching the closing ceremonies? I haven’t gotten to watch much of the Winter Olympics at all, so I’m soaking up this last night. My favorite parts so far are Michael Buble and the giant inflatable moose.

2 responses to this post.

  1. That bowl full of yogurt and berries looks wonderfully fresh and delicious. I think I should be getting a free kashi sample in the mail, but I can’t remember. Hopefully none of my roommates steal it (very likely).

    Reply

  2. [...] Team in Training « One-Bowl Meals [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

